
In Apex Legends, the use of cheats is prohibited by the game’s rules. The anti-cheat system is responsible for detecting prohibited software, helping to identify dishonest players and protect the competitive mode. Let’s take a look at what anti-cheat system is used in Apex Legends, how bans work, and what to do if you’ve been banned by mistake.
Apex Legends uses Easy Anti-Cheat—an anti-cheat system also used in Dead by Daylight, Rust, Fortnite, Sea of Thieves, and other popular games. It helps detect prohibited software, such as aimbots, wallhacks, and other types of cheats.
Easy Anti-Cheat monitors running processes while you play and analyzes suspicious activity. If the system detects signs of prohibited software use or attempts to alter the game client’s behavior, your account may be temporarily or permanently banned. Respawn Entertainment regularly updates its anti-cheat mechanisms to combat cheating in Apex Legends.
Despite the system’s constant development, no anti-cheat system is capable of instantly detecting all cheaters. Therefore, you may encounter cheaters in your match, but this happens quite rarely. Report the cheater’s profile after the game so they don’t ruin even more matches for other players.
In Apex Legends, you can receive a temporary or permanent ban for violating EA’s rules. The main reasons for a ban are:
Cheats in Apex Legends aren’t the only reason for a ban. For example, you can be banned for buying or selling an account, using abusive language in chat, or having offensive usernames and profile pictures, and esports players can be banned for match-fixing.
Keep in mind that EA can ban not only your access to Apex Legends but your entire EA account.
If you were banned for using cheats and EA confirmed the violation after an investigation, the ban cannot be lifted. However, if you believe the ban was issued in error, you can file an appeal through EA Support. In your appeal, describe the situation in detail and wait for the results of the review. If it’s confirmed that you’re not at fault, access to your account will be restored.